Main Menu

Turkey

Started by Steve, December 17, 2004, 08:17:53 AM

Steve

I want to try smoking a turkey for Christmas dinner. I read Randy's post about smoking at 325 degrees F, but my smoker maxes out at 250 degrees F. Since I've never done poultry in a smoker before, are there handling issses that I need to be aware of? What is the optimum smoking temp? And how long can I expect the bird to be in the cooker?

DKM

Like all things BBQ, people disagree on how to smoke a bird. A friend of mine follows the directions below from the BBQ FAQ:

BTW I have had some of his turkey and it was quite good.

Credit the BBQ FAQ at: http://www.eaglequest.com/~bbq/faq2/10-7.html#10.5

Early in the morning of the big "turkey" day, take the thawed turkey out of wrapper, remove neck, gizzard, and liver from cavity of turkey and set aside. You would be surprised how many barbecuers have forgotten and left this inside the bird! Wash the bird thoroughly with cold water and pat dry. Remove plastic pop-up thermometer if installed as they don't work. Never trust a pop-up thermometer when smoking a turkey. It will "pop-up" before the bird is done, and get you into trouble.

I like to rub turkey all over with a good olive oil, or liquid vegetable oil. Then, I like to use a good rub which I hand-rub all over the turkey. I prefer to use white pepper vs. black in my turkey rub for black pepper on fowl can appear to look dirty when bird is smoked. Next, fire up the smoker, and when internal temperature in the smoker is around 240F place bird on the smoker, breast-side up.

I aim for a cooking temperature range of 240-250F during the entire smoking process. Every hour or two, take a basting brush and reapply some oil. This helps to keep the skin from becoming dry and tough, plus promotes a nice golden color.