Boston Butts...Round One

Started by JackRDeen, February 17, 2005, 08:06:31 PM

JackRDeen

Hey guys, Im new to this forum, but just from looking around this thing, it looks like everybody here can provide a wealth of information about bbq. Im a student at Texas A&M and didnt really get into bbqing until after acquiring a pit that my dad built back in the 80s and redoing it this last summer. Now that I have it down here in College Station, I have found my self bbqing all the time. So far, I have mainly been cooking briskits, ribs, and chicken leg quarters (probably the greatest thing ever on a college budget  ;D), but now I am looking into cooking some boston butts. My dad got me interested in trying to cook one of these things a couple of months ago and now all Im looking for is some advice on how to do just that. Basically, any info would be appreciated...rub suggestions, how far in advance to prep the meat, how long to cook, at what temp, what to do with the meat while its on the smoker, etc, etc. Any advice or suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Heres a picture of my smoker to let you see what Im working with...

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

JackRDeen

One more picture...

DKM

Nice.

A friend has one almost just like it.  I have used it a couple of times.  Done some really good smoking on it.

DKM
Just how many boards can I be on anyways.

Steve

Randy