Help......I need a new smoker !!

Started by smokey, March 06, 2005, 08:20:15 PM

smokey

Any recommendations on smokers?  I like to smoke ribs, chicken, pork butts, brisket.  In the past I used a New Braunfels smoker with the offset wood box.  It was difficult to maintain an even temp especially with varying weather conditions.

I  really want something that will regulate/maintain the temperature on its own eg., gas or electric but still provide the real deal by using some amount of wood for flavoring

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Smokey

A D V E R T I S E M E N T

DKM

I love my New Braunfels smoker, but my sanity if often questioned.

Steve seems to have a pretty good electic smoker, check some of the older post.

DKM
Just how many boards can I be on anyways.

Jim Malter

Hi All-

I am a newbie here but I have been very happy with a Kamado. It is a ceramic cooker with tremendous heat and moisture retention. It keeps very consistent temp and smokes extremely well. It is costly but should last forever. If you are interested, check out Kamado.com

Jim

DKM

Quote from: Jim Malter on March 06, 2005, 10:07:54 PM
Hi All-

I am a newbie here but I have been very happy with a Kamado. It is a ceramic cooker with tremendous heat and moisture retention. It keeps very consistent temp and smokes extremely well. It is costly but should last forever. If you are interested, check out Kamado.com

Jim

Ever watch the show Good Eats on the Foodnetwork?

DKM

RibRubber

Good luck, I'm in the same phase as you, needing a new one, but can't decide. Leaning towards the Cookshack, but can't pull the trigger.

Steve